Under Ironroot: Intro

I fancy playing a quirky Eberron solo game, something in a little-explored corner of the world. I’ve been reading Exploring Eberron recently, and the Mror Holds seem like the perfect spot to set my story. 

But I’m just not in the mood for a 5e game. Looking at some alternatives (Savage Worlds, Scarlet Heroes) is not doing it for me either. I’m looking for some of the narrative, fiction first feeling that I get from Ironsworn, but I’m hoping for something a lot lighter in tone, perhaps even a slightly gonzo feel for this game. 

Rummaging through my RPG shelf it occurs to me I’ve never tried to solo Dungeon World. A bit of research reveals some great Eberron resources for DungeonWorld, as well as an incredibly useful (and entertaining) campaign recorded by Thosirien a few years back.

Here are the resources I have set aside for the game. They may or may not all get used.

  • Dungeon World
  • The Perilous Wilds
  • Exploring Eberron
  • Eberron: Rising from the Last war
  • Scarlet Heroes (for random tables and the adventure tags)
  • The GM’s Apprentice fantasy deck (in case I need a GM emulator)
  • The Tome of Adventure Design (hundreds of wonderful random tables)
  • The Dungeon Dozen (more tables, with a gonzo flavour)

I create my character, Khastro, a dwarven spore druid from the Mror Holds.  He was a lowly mushroom farmer from a family of lowly mushroom farmers, part of Clan Lanarak, living on the eastern shore of Mirror Lake, deep in the Ironroot mountains. But the fungi have called to him, and so he’s set off on his travels.

Khastro Lanarak – Druid, Damage d6, HP 21, Armour 1
STR 13 +1 DEX 12 +0 CON 15 +1 INT 9 +0 WIS 16 +2 CHA 8 -1
Alignment: Good: Help something or someone grow.
Race: Dwarf
Moves: Born of the Soil, Fungal Druid, Speak to Minds, Fungi-Touched, By Nature Sustained, Spirit Tongue, Shapeshifter, Studied Essence
Equipment:  Staff, hide armour, poultices and herbs, ancient key

Next I decide where to begin my game. Like Thosirien I plan to start my game in medias res, so to facilitate that I think Khastro has travelled to the seat of the Iron Council, Krona Peak, seeking answers to the mystery of his growing bond with the animals, lichens and mycelium network of the deep places.

Next up: the GM Agenda, Principles and Moves.

2 Responses to “Under Ironroot: Intro”

  1. […] really liked Dungeon World. I found hacks I liked, even ran a game in Eberron for a while based off this amazing actual play . Plus started making my own thing and characters. With the Perilous Wilds […]

Leave a comment